Board of Directors

Board of Directors  |  Board Committees  |  Committee Charters  |  Code of Conduct

Tom Bates
Chairman of the Board

Dr. Bates has served as our Chairman of the Board since November 2011. Dr. Bates has been an Adjunct Professor and Co-Chair of the Energy MBA Advisory Board in the Neeley School of Business at Texas Christian University, where he teaches courses in energy macroeconomics, since January 2011. From January 2010 until December 2012, Dr. Bates was a Senior Advisor to Lime Rock Management LP and was a Managing Director at the private equity firm from October 2001 until December 2009, where he was responsible for global investing in oil service and oil service technology. Before joining Lime Rock, Dr. Bates had 25 years of experience in senior oil service management and operations with Schlumberger Ltd., Weatherford Enterra Inc. and Baker Hughes Inc. Dr. Bates presently serves on the board of directors of Hercules Offshore Inc., TETRA Technologies Inc., Alacer Gold Corporation and previously served on the board of directors of NATCO Group, Inc., T-3 Energy Services, Inc., and Reservoir Exploration Technology ASA. Dr. Bates graduated from the University of Michigan with a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering.

Byron A. Dunn
President & Chief Executive Officer

Mr Dunn was a founder of Independence Contract Drilling in 2011 and has been a Director of Independence and Chief Executive Officer since that time. From 2007 to 2010 Mr. Dunn served as a Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of Global Energy Services, whose Drilling Group formed the rig manufacturing division of Independence Contract Drilling upon the formation of the company. From 2010 to 2011 Mr. Dunn served as a Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of Erin Energy Corp a NYSE listed international E&P company with operations in China and Africa. Previously Mr. Dunn served as Vice President of National Oilwell Varco and President of the 3,500 employee, $1 billion revenue Eastern Hemisphere Rig Solutions Group and as Chairman of the Board of Directors of TTS Marine ASA. He Chaired the National Oilwell/Varco International merger integration task force. Mr. Dunn has over 15 years experience in investment banking last serving as Executive Director of the UBS Global Energy and Power Group. He earned a BS in Chemical Engineering from the Illinois Institute of Technology and a MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, he holds a CFA charter and is a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Society of Petroleum Engineers and is a Fellow of the National Association of Corporate Directors. He serves on the Board of Directors of Brace Industrial Group and as Chairman of its Safety Committee.

James Crandell

Mr. Crandell was appointed to our Board of Directors effective January 4, 2017.  Mr. Crandell's career includes serving as Managing Director of Cowen and Company from 2013 until 2016, and as Managing Director of Dahlman Rose from 2011 until its acquisition by Cowen and Company in 2013. Prior to that he served as Managing Director at Barclays Capital plc from 2008 until 2011, and as Managing Director for Lehman Brothers starting in 1999 until its acquisition by Barclays Capital in 2008. From 1981 until 1998, Mr. Crandell held various posts at Salomon Brothers, including managing director, senior oil services analyst, director of U.S. equity research, and global coordinator of equity research.  Mr. Crandell currently is a member of the Board of Directors of NOW Inc. (NYSE:  DNOW), where he serves on the nominating/corporate governance committee and compensation committee.

Matthew Fitzgerald

Mr. Fitzgerald has served as a director on our Board of Directors since April 2012. Mr. Fitzgerald is now a private investor. From 2009 until July 2013, Mr. Fitzgerald served as President of Total Choice Communications LLC, a wireless retailer in Houston, Texas. Mr. Fitzgerald retired from Grant Prideco, Inc., one of the world’s largest suppliers of drill pipe and drill bits, following its merger with National Oilwell Varco in 2008. He had served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer beginning in January 2004 and as Treasurer beginning in February 2007. Mr. Fitzgerald held the positions of Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and Treasurer of Veritas DGC from 2001 until January 2004. Mr. Fitzgerald also served as Vice President and Controller for BJ Services Company from 1989 to 2001. He previously served on the board of directors of Maverick Oil and Gas, Inc. and currently serves on the board of directors of Rosetta Resources, Inc. Mr. Fitzgerald began his career as a certified public accountant with the accounting firm of Ernst & Whinney. He holds a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting and a Masters in Accountancy from the University of Florida.

Daniel McNease

Mr. McNease has served as a director on our Board of Directors since April 2013. Mr. McNease has served as the Chairman of AXON EP, Inc. since July 2009 and as a Member of the Advisory Board at HitecVision AS since January 2010. From 2007 through 2013, he served as a Director of Dockwise Ltd. From 2004 through 2008, Mr. McNease served as President, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer at Rowan Companies plc (“Rowan”), a provider of land and offshore contract drilling services and a manufacturer of rigs and drilling equipment. In total, Mr. McNease spent 34 years at Rowan, serving as Chief Executive Officer from 2003 to 2008, President from 2002 to 2008 and as Executive Vice President of Rowan and President of its drilling subsidiaries from 1999 to 2002. Mr. McNease is a graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi and the Columbia University Executive Program. He is a member of the International Association of Drilling Contractors, the National Ocean Industries Association, and the American Petroleum Institute.

Tighe Noonan

Mr. Noonan has served as a director on our Board of Directors since March 2012. Mr. Noonan is a founder and has served as a partner of 4D Global Energy Advisors SAS since its formation in 2002, and he has been continuously involved in energy finance since 1982. After 13 years of experience in commercial and investment banking with the Barclays Group (BZW) in New York and Paris, notably in the energy sector, Mr. Noonan joined Société Générale in 1995, where he was Managing Director, Global Head of Oil and Gas Project Finance. Following studies at Swarthmore College (USA), Mr. Noonan received an advanced degree in economics and finance from the Institut d’Etudes Politiques and the University of Grenoble (France). Mr. Noonan presently serves on the board of directors of Finoil SpA, GES-Global Energy Services, Inc.,Lampogas SpA, Dulevo International SpA, Aladdin Middle East Ltd., and ORS International Ltd. and certain subsidiaries of the aforementioned. He also serves as Chairman of 4D Global Energy Investments plc, 4D Global Energy Development Capital Fund plc, and 4D Global Energy Development Capital Fund II plc.

print email

Independence Contract Drilling was founded in 2011 as a provider of premium integrated onshore drilling services.